

Committee and Date
Annual Council

16th May 2013

10.00 am

<u>Item</u>

9

Public

APPOINTMENT OF CABINET MEMBERS, DEPUTY CABINET MEMBERS & THEIR PORTFOLIOS

Responsible Officer

Email: claire.porter@shropshire.gov.uk Telephone: 01743 252763

1.0 Summary

- 1.1 This report sets out the Leader's proposals for the appointment of Cabinet Members and Deputy Cabinet Members for the year 2013/14, their portfolios and remits.
- 1.2 In accordance with The Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007, the Executive arrangements adopted for Shropshire Council means it is for the Leader not only to appoint the Cabinet but also to decide how the Executive functions are to be discharged.
- 1.3 The Leader therefore presents the contents of this report for information accordingly.

2.0 Recommendations

- A. That the appointment of Cabinet Members and the allocation of titles and remits of portfolios, as set out in Appendix 1 to this report, be noted.
- B. That the appointment of Deputy Cabinet Members and the allocation of titles and remits of portfolios, as set out in Appendix 1 to this report, be noted.
- C. (i) That the continuation of the discharge of the functions of the Council in relation to West Mercia Energy through the West Mercia Energy Joint Committee and the West Mercia Energy Audit Committee be noted and the Council's Executive Member representatives be noted, namely Mike Owen, Steve Charmley and Claire Wild serving on the Joint Committee, with Mike Owen also serving on the Audit Committee.
 - (ii) That the continuation of the discharge of functions through the Health and Well-Being Board be noted and the Council's Executive representatives be noted, namely:

- Deputy Leader of the Council/Portfolio Holder for Children's Services – Transformation and Safeguarding -Ann Hartley;
- Portfolio Holder for Health Karen Calder; and
- Portfolio Holder for Adult Services Transformation and Safeguarding – Tim Barker.

Report

1. Background

1.1 Under Shropshire Council's Executive Procedure Rules, it is for the Leader of the Council to determine the membership of his Cabinet and to present to Council a document containing the requisite information. This document contains the names, addresses and electoral divisions of the people to be appointed to the Executive, the extent of any authority delegated to Executive members individually, the terms of reference and constitution of any Executive Committees as the Leader proposes, and the nature and extent of any delegation of Executive functions under a joint arrangement. These are all Leader appointments, in accordance with the legislation.

2. Proposals

- 2.1. The proposals in respect of the appointments to the Cabinet and the titles and remits of the various portfolios of the Cabinet and Deputy Cabinet Members together with the names and addresses of those members, are set out in Appendix 1.
- 2.2. Currently West Mercia Energy exercises executive functions through its Joint Committee and the Leader proposes to maintain these arrangements and will appoint 3 Cabinet members to the Committee.
- 2.3 Currently Executive functions are also exercised through the Health and Wellbeing Board. The Leader will appoint 3 Cabinet members to serve on the Board.

List of Background Papers (This MUST be completed for all reports, but does not include items containing exempt or confidential information)

Executive Arrangements under the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 – Paper to Council 19 December 2008.

Human Rights Act Appraisal

This report is compatible with the Human Rights Act 1998.

Environmental Appraisal - Environmental and sustainability issues are included within the portfolio remit of one of the Cabinet Members.

Risk Management Appraisal - None identified.

Community / Consultations Appraisal - N/A		
Cabinet Member – Leader of the Council		
Local Member	All	
Appendices:	Appointment of Cabinet & Deputy Cabinet Members, Member Portfolios and remit.	

APPOINTMENT OF CABINET MEMBERS AND AGREEMENT OF MEMBER PORTFOLIOS

Appointment of Cabinet Members

1. (Leader)
Mr Keith Barrow
Silverdale House
Silverdale Drive
Trefonen
Oswestry
SY10 9DJ

Oswestry South Division

2. (Deputy Leader)
Mrs Ann Hartley
Kohima Villa
4 Trimpley Street
Ellesmere
Shropshire
SY12 0AE

Ellesmere Urban Division

 Mr Tim Barker Brook Cottage
 9-10 Cardington Church Stretton SY6 7JZ

Burnell Division

4. Mr Gwilym Butler
Mallards
Doddington
Hopton Wafers
Kidderminster
DY14 0NR

Cleobury Mortimer Division

5. Mrs Karen Calder
The Old Post Office
46 Wollerton
Nr Hodnet
TF9 3NB

Hodnet Division

6. Mr Lee Chapman Longmynd Hotel Cunnery Road Church Stretton SY6 6AF

Church Stretton and Craven Arms Division

7. Mr Steve Charmley
3 Glebe Meadows
Whittington
Oswestry
Shropshire
SY11 4AG

Whittington Division

8. Mr Mike Owen
38 Pendle Way
Washford Park
Meole Brace
Shrewsbury
SY3 9QS

Meole Division

Mr Malcolm Price
 12 Partridge Close
 Shrewsbury
 SY1 4TY

Battlefield Division

10. Mrs Claire Wild Newmans Hall Eaton Mascott Shrewsbury SY5 6HE

Severn Valley Division

PORTFOLIOS

2.

Portfolio	Cabinet Member
Leader (Reputation Management and Communications)	Keith Barrow
Deputy Leader and Children's Services - Transformation and Safeguarding	Ann Hartley
Adult Services - Transformation and Safeguarding	Tim Barker
4. Leisure, Libraries, Culture/ Commissioning	Gwilym Butler
5. Health	Karen Calder
6. Growth, Profitability and IP&E	Lee Chapman
7. Business Growth	Steve Charmley
8. Finance and Audit	Mike Owen
9. Built Environment - Strategic Planning, Planning, Housing – Local Commissioner	Malcolm Price
10. Highways/Transport/Commissioning	Claire Wild

3. **Deputy Leader**

Ann Hartley will act as Deputy Leader of the Council.

APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CABINET MEMBERS AND AGREEMENT OF DEPUTY MEMBER PORTFOLIOS

Appointment of Deputy Cabinet Members

Mr Peter Adams

 14 Longacre Mews
 Gains Park
 Shrewsbury
 SY3 5DT

Bowbrook Division

2. Mr Nicholas Bardsley
Heulwynt
Penygarreg Lane
Pant
Oswestry
SY10 8JS

Ruyton & Baschurch Division

3. Mr Robert Tindall
Mill Farm
Cleobury North
Bridgnorth
WV16 6RP

Brown Clee Division

4. Mr David Turner
Woodhouse Farm
Wyke
Much Wenlock
TF13 6NZ

Much Wenlock Division

5. Mrs Tina Woodward 48 Bridge Road Alveley Nr Bridgnorth WV15 6JU

Alveley and Claverley Division

PORTFOLIOS

2.

Portfolio	Deputy Cabinet Member
	Wellibei
1. Highways/Transport/Commissioning	Peter Adams
2. Children's Services – Transformation and Safeguarding	Nicholas Bardsley
0. 4	D. L. of The Letter
3. Assets	Robert Tindall
4. Growth, Profitability and IP&E	David Turner
5. Business Growth	Tina Woodward